Journal of Applied Geochemistry Vol. 18, No. 3 (2016). pp. 351



Dr. Abhishek Saha Smt. Ketharaju Venkata Subbamma – Sri Subba Rao Medal

Dr. Abhishek Saha (born on 2nd June, 1983) obtained M.Sc degree in Geology from the University of Calcutta in the year 2006 and completed his Ph.D on alkaline-carbonatite rocks of north-eastern India in 2012 from the same university. He joined as a Research Associate (CSIR) at the Department of Geology, University of Calcutta in 2013. Subsequently, in 2014, he joined the Geochemistry Division, CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad as INSA-DST Inspire Faculty. In 2015, he joined as a Scientist in CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography, Goa. In this tenure, he has done commendable work on petrology and geochemistry of several types of rock suites from different parts of India which includes the ultramafic, mafic and felsic lithologies from greenstone belts of Dharwar Craton, metabasic rocks, granites and alkaline rocks of north-eastern India, basaltic rocks from Deccan and Rajamundry Traps, Ophiolites of Andaman and Nagaland etc. He has also carried out research work on gold mineralization and PGE geochemistry of ultramafic-mafic rocks from Dharwar Craton. Dr. Saha identified and discussed for the first time the occurrence of vanadium bearing titaniferous ore bodies at Ganjang, north-eastern India. The outcome of his researche has resulted in several publications in peer reviewed journals. He has also presented his research work in different international conferences in India and abroad. Dr. Saha was the sole onboard Scientist from India in IODP Expedition - 345, where he worked as an inorganic geochemist studying the geochemistry of lower crustal gabbroic sequences of East Pacific Rise as part of an international team. This excellent research was published in Nature as an equal contribution paper. In recognition of his research, he has also received the prestigious Gold Medal awarded by the The Asiatic Society, Kolkata in the year 2012.

Dr. Pranab Kumar Tarafder,

Smt. Manthripragada Sita Devi - Sri Rama Rao Medal awarded to

Details not provided