## **AGM MINUTES**

The Twenty First Annual General Body Meeting (AGM) and the National Conference on "Multidisciplinary Research in Geo Environmental Studies for Sustainable Development (MRGESSD-2017)" was held during 15-16 September, 2017 at the School of Earth Sciences, Solapur University, Solapur. The event was sponsored by School of Earth Sciences, Solapur University, Solapur, Maharashtra.

- Dr. K. K. Dwivedy, the President, Indian Society of Applied Geochemists (ISAG) and Chairman of the AGM 2017 welcomed the delegates. He also welcomed individually the Chief Guest, Dr. M. Sudhakar, Director, Center for Marine Living Resources and Ecology, Kochi, Prof. N.N. Maldar, Vice-Chancellor and Prof. P. Prabhakar, Convener and other dignitaries.
- The proceedings of AGM started with the presentation of the Annual Report for the financial year 2016-2017 by Prof.
   K. Surya Prakash Rao, Hon. Secretary of ISAG. The copies of the report were circulated to the delegates at the start of proceedings of AGM.
- 2. Dr. K. S.V. Subramanyam presented the audited accounts for the financial year 2016-2017. The accounts show slightly higher income than the expenditure for the financial year ending on 31-03-2017. The financial situation is satisfactory for the present but may not be so in future due to escalation of cost on each and every item. Further, the interest rates on FDs are being reduced by the banks, gradually/regularly.
  - Copy of the audited accounts was circulated to the delegates before the start of AGM proceedings.
- 3. The delegates were requested to get clarifications about the Annual Report and Audited Accounts from the Secretary. After due discussion and clarifications the annual report and the accounts were unanimously approved by the delegates.
- 4. General Body approved the appointment of M/s. Nemani & Associates, Chartered Accountants, Flat. No. 108, S. R. Complex, Habsiguda, Hyderabad as Auditors of the Society for 2017-2018.
- 5. The President awarded medals and the Chief Guest distributed the Merit Certificates and the Mementos by the Secretary to the following scientists, selected on the recommendations of the expert committee for each specialization followed by thorough discussion by the Executive Council (EC).
  - The following scientists have received the Annual Awards of the Society:
- 1. Prof. J.S.R. Krishna Rao Dr. R. Dhana Raju Medal for the best paper was awarded to Dr. Kamlesh Kumar, Scientific officer-G, Department of Atomic Energy, Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD), AMD Complex, Pratap Nagar, Jaipur and Merit certificates to co-authors Dr. Rahul Banerjee, Scientific Officer/G, Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD), AMD Complex, Begumpet, Hyderabad, and Deepak B. Malpe, Department of Geology, Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj, Nagpur University, Nagpur.
- 2. Smt. Ketharaju Venkata Subbamma Sri Subba Rao Medal was awarded to Dr. M. Sundararajan, Senior Scientist, National Institute for Iterdisciplinary Science and Technology (NIIST), CSIR, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala for his contribution in the field of Geochemistry Applied to Mineral Resources during the Period 2007-2017.
- 3. Smt. Manthripragada Sita Devi Sri Rama Rao Medal was awarded to Dr. C.T. Kamala, Head Laboratory, Analytical Laboratory, Environment Protection Training and Research institute (EPTRI), Gachi bouli, Hyderabad for her contribution in the field of Analytical Geochemistry for the period 2007-2017.
- 4. Dr. G. R. Udas Dr. K. K. Dwivedy Medal was awarded to Dr. Minati Roy, Scientific Office-G, Atomic Minarals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD), Begumpet, Hyderabad for her contribution in the field of Geochemistry of Radioactive Minerals for the period 2007-2017.
- Dr. Sudarshan Pani- Dr. Rama Dwivedy Medal was awarded to Dr. Parthsarathi Chakraborty, Senior Scientist, CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography (NIO), Goa for his contribution in the field of Hydrogeology and Environmental Geochemistry for the period 2007-2017.

- 6. The Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Shri. L.K. Nanda, Director, Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD), Department of Atomic Energy, Begumpet, Hyderabad in recognition of his contributions to Earth Sciences in general and Geochemistry in particular.
- 7. The cost of paper, printing, packing, posting of JAG and others have increased enormously but the society is supplying free the Journal of Applied Geochemistry (JAG) to the fellows. Further, as the frequency of Journal has been increased from bi-annual to quarterly, the cost has doubled. The Society is facing financial constrains even then the Journal of Applied Geochemistry (JAG), is being distributed free of cost to the fellows.

Hence, to meet at least part of the expenditure like postage of JAG, and other expenses the membership fee for fellows is marginally increased in the following way:

1. Individual Membership	<b>Present Rates</b>	<b>Revised Rates</b>
Annual Subscription	Rs. 800.00	Rs. 1500.00
2. Life Membership	Rs. 4000.00	Rs. 5000.00
3. Student Membership Annual Subscription	Rs. 600.00	Rs. 1200.00
4. Library Membership Annual Subscription	Rs. 1500.00	Rs. 1800.00
5. Institutional Membership (One time payment)	Rs.15000.00	Rs. 16000.00
6. Admission Fee (For all categories)	Rs. 500.00	Rs. 500.0

- 9. The President invited the delegates to express their views about AGM 2017, the seminar and suggestions for the improvement of academic activities of ISAG. Thereupon the delegates from Institutes, from various parts of the nation have expressed their views and complimented ISAG for taking up the noble cause of the earth sciences particularly Applied Geochemistry and for extending support to the Research Scholars and Scientists. The delegates appreciated the efforts of the Society especially the editors for the regularity and quality of the Journal.
  - The delegates expressed happiness for organizing the two day National Seminar on "Multidisciplinary Research in Geo Environmental Studies for Sustainable Development (MRGESSD-2017)" and AGM-2017, successfully.
- 10. General discussion took place between Executive Council, Organizing Committee members and delegates. Several valuable suggestions were provided by the delegates for further improvement of the academic activities Society which will be considered in future.
- 11. Prof. P. Prabhakar, Convener, School of Earth Sciences, Solapur University, Solapur delivered the Annual Lecture.
- Dr. M. Sudhakar, Chief Guest, Director, Center for Marine Living Resources and Ecology, Kochi, addressed the delegates.
  - Dr. K. K. Dwivedy, President, thanked the School of Earth Sciences, Solapur University (SU) for sponsoring the event especially Prof. P. Prabhakar for organizing it successfully. Later the president declared the AGM closed.

Sd/-K. Surya Prakash Rao Hon. Secretary, ISAG