

Dr. S. K. Acharyya

Prof.J. S. R. Krishna Rao - Dr. R. Dhana Raju Medal

Dr. J. S.K.Acharyya obtained B.Sc. (Hons.) degree in Geology and Geophysics in 1960 from IIT, Kgp and M.Tech. (Applied Geology) in 1962 from same institute, securing first class first position and record marks. He joined the Geological Survey of India as Geologist (Jr) in the year 1962 and after serving in various positions, he held the position of Director General, GSI, from 1996 to November 2000. He is presently working as an Emeritus Scientist in the Department of Geological Sciences, Jadavpur University, Kolkata. Dr. Acharyya received the degree of D.Sc. in Geology from the University of Calcutta in the year 1976. In recognition of his outstanding research work on the Himalaya and Indo-Burma Ranges he was awarded the prestigious S. S. Bhatnagar prize in Earth Sciences in the year 1984.

Dr. Acharyya has made sustained contributions on the fields of Himalayan geology, Gondwana geology, Gondwana breakup and Asian accretion, Geodynamics and in the field of groundwater arsenic pollution. He has authored over 150 publications in reputed National and International Journals and the Reports of GSI. This includes his research on applied geochemistry in addressing petrogenetic problems on Archaean Greenstones; Naga-Manipur-Andaman ophiolites, Tuting ophiolitic volcanics; as well as, on the age and petro-tectonic setting of the Abor Volcanics. He has also worked extensively on the role of geochemistry and sea-level changes during the early Holocene affecting the Ganga Basin that are responsible for severe arsenic pollution of groundwater in the Ganga delta in West Bengal but confinement of arsenic contamination to entrenched channels in the middle Ganga plains.

Dr. Acharyya is a Life Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, India, since 1997. He was awarded Honorary Life Membership of the Indian Society of Applied Geochemists in 1999, elected Fellow of West Bengal Academy of Science and Technology also since 1999. He was felicitated by the Association of Exploration Geophysicists for his outstanding contribution to the cause of Geosciences in India in 2000.