INDIAN SOCIETY OF APPLIED GEOCHEMISTS (ISAG)

INSTITUTION OF MEDALS

The Indian Society of Applied Geochemists (ISAG), established in the year 1993 and registered in 1997 with the Registrar of Societies, Government of Andhra Pradesh, is a non-profit scientific organisation and publishes a bi-annual journal 'Journal of Applied Geochemistry' (JAG) during January and July in a year. The Society also organizes National and International Symposia on the subjects relevant to geochemistry and brings out special volumes. Recently, with liberal contributions from a few donors, the Society has instituted the following four Medals to be awarded each year at the time of the Annual General Body Meeting (AGM) of ISAG.

- 1. J.S.R. Krishna Rao R. Dhana Raju Medal for the **best paper published in the Journal of the Applied Geochemistry in the year before the year of AGM** instituted by Dr. R. Dhana Raju in 2005 in honour of his teacher Prof. J.S.R. Krishna Rao.
 - Prof. J.S.R. Krishna Rao, Former Professor and Head of the Department of Geology, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam is a renowned Economic Geologist, well known for his contributions on the Manganese Ores of India, in general and Andhra Pradesh in particular, published in many leading International and National Journals. Besides, he was a Research Guide to Dr. R. Dhana Raju for Ph.D. in Geology (1970) of the Andhra University and Dr. Dhana Raju was his first Ph.D. student. As a mark of respect and gratitude to Prof. Krishna Rao, Dr. Dhana Raju instituted the above medal.
- 2. Ketharaju Venkata Subbamma Subba Rao (late) Medal instituted by Prof. K. Surya Prakash Rao in 2005 in memory of his parents for **Best contribution in the field of Geochemistry as applied to mineral resources during last ten years before the year of AGM**.
 - Smt. Ketharaju Venkata Subbamma Sri Subba Rao hailed from an agricultural family resided in a remote village in a reserved forest. They were like guardians of the village. They not only looked after their large family but did selfless service to their village. During the Razakar movement they provided shelter to innocent villagers at the risk of their own life. They have not discriminated the people by caste or religion but promoted communal harmony in their own humble way. They are not only responsible for the physical existence of Prof. Rao but also his spiritual out-look of life. The Medal is instituted by him as a mark of his love and gratitude to his parents. This is a small way to remember their souls.
- 3. Manthripragada Sita Devi Rama Rao Medal instituted by Prof. K. Surya Prakash Rao in 2005 in memory of his in-laws for **Best contribution in the field of Analytical Geochemistry during last ten years before the year of AGM**.
 - Smt. Manthripragada Sita Devi Sri Rama Rao (late) were a divine couple like Sri Rama and Sita. They gave six expert citizens specialised in medicine, engineering and to Indian Army and to the society who occupied high positions in their super-specialty fields in life, including Bangladesh and Pakistan wars. They silently helped many poor students for their higher education. Sri Rama Rao occupied the top position in the Central Government. They have gifted their most precious daughter Dr. K. Sarojini Devi as life partner to Prof. K. Surya Prakash Rao. She retired as a Director of Medical Education (DME), Govt. of Andhra Pradesh. The Medal is instituted as a mark of love and affection to his in-laws.
- 4. G. R. Udas K. K. Dwivedy Medal for the **Best research paper published in the field of Radioactive Minerals during last ten years before the year of AGM** instituted in 2006 by Dr. K. K. Dwivedy in memory of Dr. G. R. Udas.

This Medal has been instituted by Dr. K. K. Dwivedy, Retired Director, Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD), Hyderabad in memory of late Dr. G. R. Udas.

Dr. Gajanan Rajaram Udas was born on 28th March, 1921. He obtained his M.Sc and Ph.D degrees in Geology from Mumbai University. The subject for his Ph.D thesis was "The Carbonatite and alkaline

rocks of Ambadongar". Dr. G. R. Udas was the supervisor for Ph.D of Dr. Dwivedy, the president of ISAG.

Dr. Udas started his career as a Mining Engineer in Chitral Mining Corporation, now in Pakistan. He joined the Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD) of the Department of Atomic Energy in October 1950 and worked in various capacities before becoming its Director in March 1974. In the Uranium exploration field, his work at the Jaduguda, Bodal and other areas of Singhbhum are well known. He had published a number of papers on syenitisation, Fluoride deposits, isotopic studies on alkaline rocks and rare earth extraction from carbonatite rocks.

He had his training on sandstone type uranium deposits of the United States of America under USGS. He laid keen emphasis on research and publication of data. He guided research on carbonatite and geochemistry of U, Nb and Ta. After his retirement, he joined North-East Hill University as Professor and Head of Department of Geology for a limited tenure.

He was a dynamic administrator, social activist and research guide. The Headquarters building of AMD at Begumpet (Hyderabad), bears testimony to his foresight. Dr. Udas breathed his last in Pune on 18th January, 1995.

5. Dr. Sudarshan Pani- Dr. (Smt) Rama Dwivedy Medal for the **Best Contribution in the field of Hydrogeology and Environmental Geochemistry** during last ten years before the year of AGM, 2014. Dr. Sudharshan Pani was a medical practitioner, social activist and environmentalist who stressed the importance of safe drinking water for good health. With interest in sponsor the Hydrogeology, Dr. Rama Dwivedy instituted a medal in the honour of her father Dr. Sudarshan Pani as a mark of love and affection for the major contribution in the field of Hydrogeology and Environmental Geochemistry as Dr. Sudarashan Pani – Dr. Rama Dwivedy medal.

The ISAG requests all the Members to widely publicize these Awards and bring to the notice of scientists working in their organizations. They are also requested to nominate suitable candidates (with supporting documental evidence) to these Medals for consideration by the Awards Committee.

Duly-filled proforma should reach the Secretary, ISAG on or before Thirtieth November of each year to enable the Committee to make the selection.

K. Surya Prakash RaoHon. Secretary

Note: See for details website: www.appliedgeochemistsindia.org.in