Journal of Applied Geochemistry Vol.14 No.2 (2012) pp 232-234

## ANNUAL GENERAL BODY MEETING (AGM)

22-24 February, 2012 Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Varanasi

The fifteenth Annual General Body Meeting (AGM) of the society and the National Seminar on "Recent advances and future challenges in Geochemistry and Geophysics: the Indian scenario" was held during 22-24 February, 2012 at Department of Geology, Center of Advanced Study, Banaras Hindu University, (BHU), Varanasi. The event was sponsored by Banaras Hindu University (BHU) The minutes of the AGM-2012 are given below.

## MINUTES

Dr. K.K. Dwivedy, the President, ISAG and Chairman of the AGM- 2012 welcomed the delegates. Dr. V.P. Dimri, Distinguished Scientist, Council of Scientific and Research Institute (CSIR), was the Chief Guest. The Vice-chancellor, Dr. M. Sudhakar was the Guest of honour and the President respectively for the Annual General Body Meeting and valedictory function of National Seminar. Dr.N.V. Chalapathi Rao, Department of Geology, Center of Advanced Study, Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Varanasi. deliver the annual lecture.

- Prof. K. Surya Prakash Rao Hon. Secretary of ISAG presented the Annual Report for the financial year 2011-2012. The copies of the report were circulated to the delegates at the start of proceedings of AGM-2012.
- 2. The Treasurer Dr. B. Srinivas presented the accounts for the financial year 2010-2011. The accounts show that the income is slightly higher than the expenditure of the society for the financial year ended on 31-03-2011. The funds situation is satisfactory for the present but may not be so in future due to escalation of cost on each and every item.
- 3. The delegates were requested to get clarifications, if any in the Annual Report and Audited Accounts from the Secretary/Treasurer. After due discussion the annual report and the accounts were unanimously adopted by the fellows/delegates.
- 4. The President awarded medals and the Chief Guest distributed the Merit Certificates to the following scientists, selected on the recommendation of expert committees of each medal and after thorough discussion by the Executive Council (EC).

Prof. J.S.R. Krishna Rao - Dr. R. Dhana Raju medal

The article on "Interpretation of Groundwater Quality Applying Simple Statistical Tools in Penna- Chitravati River Basin, Anantapur District, Southern India" by **A. G. S. Reddy**, Central Ground Water Board (CGWB), Pune has been adjudicated as the best awarded medals and certificates to authors.

Smt. Ketharaju Venkata Subbamma-Sri Subba Rao medal	Prof. M.K.Panigrahi, IIT, Kharagpur has been awarded for his contribution in the field of Geochemistry as Applied to Mineral Resources for the period of 2002-2011.
Smt. Manthripragada Sita Devi - Sri Rama Rao medal	Dr. G. Chakrapani, AMD, Nagpur has been awarded for his contribution in the field of Analytical Geochemistry for the period 2002-2011.
Dr. G. R. Udas - Dr. K. K. Dwivedy medal	Shri D. Battacharya, AMD, Bangalore has been awarded for his contribution in the field of Geochemistry of Radioactive Minerals for the period 2002-2011.

5. The President invited the delegates to express their views about AGM 2012, the seminar and suggestions for the improvement of academic activities of ISAG. There upon the delegates, Research Institutes, Universities, etc expressed their views and complimented ISAG for taking up the noble cause of the Applied Geochemistry and extending support to the Research Scholars, Scientists, etc. However, the programme could not be completed under unavoidable circumstances.

During the brief interaction clarifications were provided by the Secretary about the Society and the procedure for becoming the member (Fellow) of the society and many other related matters. The Secretary supplied membership forms to the delegates. One delegate became Life member of the society (Dr. D. Padmalal) and many promised to send membership forms soon both for Annual and Life fellows.

The delegates expressed happiness for organizing two day successful AGM-2012, National Seminar on "Recent advances and future challenges in Geochemistry and Geophysics: the Indian scenario" during 22-24 February, 2012.

- 6. General discussion took place between Executive Council members and Organising Committee members several suggestions were given by the delegates for the improvement of the Society and academic activities in the future.
- 7. Dr. N.V. Chalapathi Rao, the Guest of Honour, delivered the Annual Lecture

## **AGM-** Resolution

The Executive Council (EC) members discussed the proposal to increase the membership subscription as proposed by the Secretary. The Secretary explained that the increase is necessitated in view of heavy cost escalation of printing, postage, office maintenance, monthly salaries; etc. Even after increase, the subscription of ISAG is the lowest compared to other societies in India. The proposal was discussed and resolved in EC meeting and the same is being submitted to AGM. The details of enhancement under various categories are:

		Existing	Proposed
1. Registration/Admission Fee			
(One time payment)	Rs.	100.00	500.00
2. Individual Membership			
Annual Subscription	Rs.	300.00	600.00
3. Life Membership	Rs.	3000.00	3500.00

4. Student Membership			
Annual Subscription	Rs.	200.00	400.00
5. Foreign Membership			
Admission Fee		\$ 25.00	\$ 30.00
Annual Subscription		\$ 50.00	\$ 70.00
Life Membership		\$200.00	\$250.00
6. Library Membership			
Annual Membership	Rs.	1000.00	1500.00
7. Institutional Membership	Rs.	10,000.00	15,000.00
8. Corporate Membership			
Annual	Rs.	30,000.00	30,000.00
Life	Rs.	2,00,000.00	2,00,000.00

No change is effected in other categories. The revised tariff will come in to operation from 01-04-2012.

Date: 28-02-2012

K. Surya Prakash Rao Hon. Secretary, ISAG